Skip to main content
Denture Living Community
J

4 Messages

• 

100 Points

Sun, Feb 21, 2021 12:43 AM

Trying to decide whether to get dentures

I have only 5 teeth in the front, the rest were pulled. I have been wearing a partial for over 10 years, and it’s problematic. I have a very hard time chewing food, lettuce is a terrible issue, the partial doesn’t really cut into food. My dentist suggested an upper denture, after having the five remaining teeth pulled. I would receive an immediate denture. 
I’m in the cosmetics industry, it is very important to look presentable for my career, and I’m worried about that, but I’m also worried about pain. Is it possible that because I only have to have 5 extractions I will have an easier time? 
Will having dentures be easier to deal with than this ridiculous partial that doesn’t really look or work that well for me? 
Should I just screw up my courage and do it? 

Responses

3 Messages

• 

100 Points

11 days ago

Please try as hard as you can to get implants. Though expensive, they are so so so so worth it. If you end up having to get a denture, your face ends up drooping over the years - I got mine 13 years ago - but if it's well made, it is easy to deal with. Have it relined every couple of years (covered by dental insurance) and you shouldn't need adhesives. The pain is nonexistent after the extractions; if any, it will go away quickly enough. It should work better than a partial.

(edited)

4 Messages

• 

100 Points

@priscilla_wilson I have osteoporosis and am on Prolia. My dentist is reluctant to do implants for these reasons. At this point, it’s either continuing with the partial or getting the upper denture. I so appreciate your input, I want to hear from someone who has experience with this. Thank you for answering. Bottom line seems to be go with the dentures. I’m relieved to hear the pain is negligible. Are you able to return to work relatively quickly?

3 Messages

• 

100 Points