sam_owen's profile

2 Messages

• 

80 Points

Tue, May 19, 2020 10:25 PM

Issues with wisdom teeth, help!

Hi guys this is my first time posting here, sorry if this isn’t the right place!

I am 21 years old and had 22 extractions, my entire upper set of teeth were removed and partial lower.

I now have dentures and have struggled the entire time adapting to them, the fit on the temporary and permanent set of teeth have not been good.

To complicate matters, 2 of my wisdom teeth have now come through and so I’m finding it even harder to wear the upper denture, the wisdom teeth make them sit slanted and I have to use an almighty amount of fixodent! (Which is as unpleasant as it sounds)

My dentist insists I get the wisdom teeth removed, however due to the Covid-19 pandemic the surgery has been postponed. My question is, is it really ethical to get the wisdom teeth taken out? I didn’t want to ask the dentist if she could simply adjust the dentures to fit over two teeth as she was so adamant they be removed. I do not trust my dentist as she has made several errors with my dentures in the past and I’m slightly worried this is the easy way out. The wisdom teeth aren’t causing me any pain, just a nuisance because they’re affecting my denture.

I’m really not sure what to do guys, should I sign up to a new dentist or should I just enquire as to whether they can fit the teeth around the wisdom teeth? I feel a bit hopeless and it’s having a really bad impact on my self esteem having slanted teeth!!

47 Messages

• 

1.5K Points

2 y ago