Skip to main content
Denture Living Community

1 Message

• 

70 Points

Sat, Jul 8, 2017 5:42 PM

Terrified

I am having all uppers and all but three lowers pulled on Tuesday. I am having an immediate. denture made by a prostodontist. I am terrified. I have severe gum disease that I have had treated in the past, but they are really bad now! I'm sure they are infected. Bleed whenever I brush. I can't wait to get them out, but am worried about the oral surgery and recovery. I am a professional. Admissions director at a private school. I talk a lot in my job! I am taking almost 2 weeks off. I hope that will be enough, I need helpful encouragement!

Responses

30 Messages

• 

724 Points

3 years ago

Two weeks is plenty of time......takes four or five days for the swelling to subside.....They will not fit right so don't be disappointed...Stock up with Fixodent or Secure....(adhesives)..Only eat easy lunches when in public...(soups and smooth things) nothing that can get under dentures....Bring adhesives with you....

125 Messages

• 

3.3K Points

3 years ago

I'm afraid too of getting mine done BUT I have found this forum to be full of people whom share their tips and tricks for having a successful outcome. I have a post someone addressed to me saved that shares some helpful info on what to expect. I will find it and get it to you in a bit.

The biggest thing I'VE learned so far is that it is going to be important to advocate for ourselves and keep in contact with our denture makers. I'm spending good money for my procedure and new teeth and I want to be able to wear them successfully.

Keep us posted.

125 Messages

• 

3.3K Points

3 years ago

THIS IS A REPOST OF A MEMBER'S RESPONSE TO A COMMENT I HAD MADE. FULL OF SOME GOOD WORDS OF ADVICE AND ENCOURAGEMENT.