Skip to main content
Denture Living Community

6 Messages

• 

194 Points

Sat, Feb 20, 2016 1:52 AM

Full Mouth Extractions and Immediate Upper and Lower Dentures

Today I had Full Mouth Extractions and Immediate Upper and Lower Dentures all in one day at NYU Dentistry School. WOW what an experience. They where great and very professional. They talked with me in detail for the past weeks leading up to today. I am indeed a candidate for implants but they requested that I get dentures first...then let the gums heal...then come back in 3 to 6 months for upper and lower dental implants.

My experience: They numbed me up so good that I did not feel anything. I can't talk quite yet and very scared to eat something. I will just drink protein shakes for the next few days. Do not like gagging every time I attempt talk. I am scared to go back to work next due to my gagging with upper dentures in. I work in sales management and need to talk to my clients this week with no issues. I have to learn how to speak and eat all over again. Dating will be an issue because I can not talk properly due to gagging/gag reflex with upper denture in. HELP!!!!!!!

My question to the Denture Living community: What can I do to prevent gagging all the time with my upper dentures in?

Responses

306 Messages

• 

7.8K Points

5 years ago

Welcome to the community Mark!

First, your gagging problem is not uncommon. So take comfort in that

There are a couple of possible reasons you are experiencing gagging. Your mouth is probably very swollen and the denture is not going to fit very well for the first few weeks so you have less room in your mouth than you're used to.

The other reason could be that the denture is simply too deep and too close to the gag zone. This can be easily corrected by getting your dentist to shorten it a bit. They do this easily with dremel.

I personally had difficulty speaking until I got a soft reline. Then suddenly I had no problem.