Skip to main content
Denture Living Community

2.1K Messages

• 

54.3K Points

Thu, Jun 27, 2013 8:50 PM

Denture adhesive. Ugh!!!

What is the best way to remove denture adhesive from your gums and the roof of your mouth when you take your teeth out? I'm having mega problems with that!
(from c.watkins2@mchsi.com)

Responses

2.1K Messages

• 

54.3K Points

7 years ago

Hi! I am brand new to the world of dentures...hasn't even been a week yet. How soon after getting yours did you start using the adhesive? How long did it take before you could actually chew food comfortably?
I know I'm not answering your question, but I sure could use some help.
Thanks!
(from mpghrist)

1 Message

• 

82 Points

Hi. I just got my dentures a year ago. They don't fit right (waaay too big), so I use a lot of glue. I use blue shop towels (automotive section) to kind of rub the edges then peel the glue out of my mouth. If you get good at it, you can almost remove all of the upper or lower glue in one move by slowly peeling it off - try pushing back as you peel off the upper glue. I use Fixodent, it holds great and peels off cleaner. Polident and Poligrip just muddy up when you try to remove it.
I know this is an old post, But I hope it helps.

2 Messages

• 

90 Points

I use a couple of different methods, one baking soda on a wet tooth brush. Don't get the baking soda wet though, then use a dry wash cloth to wipe it out of my mouth. Peanut butter removes it the best of all!

17 Messages

• 

470 Points

I have found that chewing gum works two ways with getting the gunk out your mouth and also helping your gums heal.  I am starting my second week and I have been eating somewhat fine.  I am fixing chicken tonight and will see how that goes.  Good luck Jim Hart

17 Messages

• 

470 Points

the chicken was great.

166 Messages

• 

3.7K Points

Glad to hear the chicken was good :)